I’ll admit, I was afraid to admit that I began to like these teeny songs that have been playing constantly on the radio.  I’m almost 21 years old, I thought I was way too mature for songs about phone calls or by boy bands (unless they were boy bands that I had grown up with).  Clearly, I was wrong.

So what songs, you ask?  I’m sure you know of them.

1) Carly Rae Jepsen – Call Me Maybe.

It all started with watching the video of celebrities such as the Beibs, Selena Gomez, and Ashley Tisdale lip synching in some mansion that had taken the internet by storm.  It took a matter of hours for everyone in the world to become obsessed with the song – Facebook status’ galore, tweets of the lyrics…you name it, it was everywhere.

So I looked up the song, listened to it a few times and that was it.  That was all I needed.  It’s one of those songs that you just can’t get out of your head.  It’s a stupid song – who cares about if a boy calls you back or not? – but it’s relatable at the same time.  I’ve gone through that.

For me now, however, the song is no longer Call Me Maybe.  It has been forever turned into Call Me Krecji, after the Boston Bruins player David Krecji.

2) One Direction – What Makes You Beautiful.

This story is very similar to the Call Me Maybe ordeal.  Boy bands seem to be making a comeback these days, everyone from the Backstreet Boys to 98 Degrees are getting back together.  Everyone except NSYNC – that’ll be a different post.  Anyways, my cousin kept talking about this amazing boy band, saying that she had officially become a “directioner.”  She had told me numerous times to at least give them a listen, and I did, but found them very annoying.

Now, the song is ALL over the radio and internet – celebrities are obsessed with them, they’re even getting the Glee treatment tonight in the prom episode.  I guess they’re the real deal.  Like the previous song, it’s grown on me and I find myself constantly singing it.  I only know the first few lyrics of the chorus, but it’s enough to get stuck in my head and never leave.

